How fast does the amtrak go?

It depends on the route. Several routes in the northeast such as New York to Boston can go up to 155 miles per hour. Most other longer routes will travel between 70 and 110 miles per hour. Shorter routes, or routes such as in the Rocky mountains will travel at speeds of 20 to 40 miles per hour.