Why do they call them liver spots?

The spots derive their name from the fact that they were once incorrectly believed to be caused by liver problems, but they are physiologically unrelated to the liver, save for a similar colour.

---

They used to be believed they derived from liver problems, but it is now known that it is unrelated.