What was the battle of eighteen sixty two?

in the morning of September 17, 1862, Confederate & Union troops in the Civil War clash near Maryland's Antietam Creek in the bloodiest single day in American military history. The Battle of Antietam marked the culmination of Confederate General Robert E. Lee's first invasion of the Northern states