What was hawaii called when europeans first discovered it?

Captain James Cook visited the islands on January 18, 1778, and named them the "Sandwich Islands" in honor of John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich. This name was in use until the 1840s, when the local name "Hawaii" gradually began to take precedence.