What does goulash mean?

Goulash, a Hungarian meat stew, derives its name from the Hungarian word for "cattle" or "herdsman", eventually meaning "herdsman's meat" or the food that a cattle herder would eat, since goulash was traditionally eaten out in the field during the working day.