What makes funk music?

Music is made funk when songs have strong bass lines, a heavy syncopated beat, a distinctive groove, and rhythmic movement that makes you want to get up and dance. Examples include, Pick Up the Pieces by Average White Band, and Shining Star by Earth Wind and Fire.