When did japan surrender to the united states?

On August 6, 1945, at 8:15 AM local time, the United States detonated an atomic bomb over the Japanese city of Hiroshima. On August 9, at 11:02 AM, a second atomic bomb was dropped over Nagasaki. The surrender of Japan was announced by Hirohito on August 15 and formally signed on September 2, 1945.