How long is canned food good for after the expiration date?

The general rule is you can eat most canned from 1 to 6 years after the expiration date if kept in a cool dark place and the cans are in good condition. If opening the can it makes a hissing sound or liquid spurts out, there is a big alteration in color, an unpleasant smell or bad taste discard it