How big is the biggest word?

The longest word in any of the major English language dictionaries is 45 letters long. The word is pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis, a word that refers to a lung disease contracted from the inhalation of very fine silica particles, specifically from a volcano.