What is the farthest long jump ever recorded?

The world record for a long jump is 8.95 meters, which is equivalent to 29 ft 4 1⁄4 inches. The record was set by Mike Powell in 1991. The Olympic record for a long jump is 8.9 meters, which is equivalent to 29 ft 2 1⁄4 inches. It was set by Bob Beamon in 1968.