What was the original name of the goo goo dolls?

Goo Goo Dolls is a band that originally included John Rzeznik, Robby Takac, and George Tutuska. They chose their name from a True Detective ad for a toy called a Goo Goo Doll. So that has always been the name of their band - Goo Goo Dolls.