When did the southern ocean become an ocean?

The Southern Ocean surrounding Antarctica is controversial. The International Hydrographic Bureau delineated it in 1928, and a 2000 international vote officially named it, but its exact boundaries remain in dispute. Mapmakers can't agree, either: National Geographic doesn't consider it an ocean.