How long do you saute apple butter?

Simmer apple butter for 1 to 2 hours while stirring the mixture often to make sure a crust does not form at the bottom. You know when it's done when you can spoon a small bit onto a chilled plate that has been in the freezer. The butter will be thick and not runny.