What is the bite of eighty seven in five nights at freddy's?

The Bite of '87 was an incident that occurred in 1987 at Freddy Fazbear's Pizza; it is mentioned by the Phone Guy in the first game. The details of this attack (& the identity of the animatronic responsible) are not given, but it allegedly caused the loss of the frontal lobe of the victim's brain.