What can you use to melt ice?

There are several ways to melt ice. Naturally, temperatures above 32 degrees Fahrenheit will cause ice to melt, but so will applying salt. Salt on ice will dissolves in the film of liquid water that is always present on the surface, thereby lowering its freezing and causing it to melt.