What does designated for assignment mean in major league baseball?

A M L B player who is designated for assignment is immediately removed from the team's roster, after which the team has 7 days to reinstate the player or make one of the following four moves: Place the player on waivers, trade the player, release the player, or send the player to the Minor Leagues