What does rock the casbah mean?

The Casbah is the citadel of Algiers in Algeria and the traditional quarter clustered around it. The song "Rock the Casbah" is about a fictional Arab chieftain trying to keep his people from listening to rock & roll music. To rock, in this context means both to dance & to figuratively shake it up.