What kind of fish is flounder from the little mermaid?

Blue Angelfish. Flounder is a bright yellow and blue colored blue angelfish. Despite the name, he is not a flounder, and is Ariel's best friend. Flounder is voiced by Jason Marin in the 1989 film.