Has anyone escaped from alcatraz?

There were a total of 14 escape attempts from Alcatraz made by 36 prisoners while it served as a federal penitentiary. Two men tried twice; twenty-three were caught, six were shot and killed, two gave up and five are listed as "missing and presumed drowned".