What year did the wizard of oz come out in color?

1939 On the positive side, the 1939 MGM film The Wizard of Oz was triumphantly realized in Technicolor, in the company's new 3-strip color process. (The first Hollywood film using the 3-color process was made in 1935; five more were made in 1936, and twenty in 1937.)