Why do people say bless you when somebody sneezes?

During the plague of AD 590, Pope Gregory I commanded was that anyone sneezing be blessed immediately, since sneezing was often the first sign that someone was falling ill with the plague. By AD 750, it became customary to say "God bless you" as a response to one sneezing.