What's profusion index?

The perfusion index (PI) derived from a pulse oximeter is calculated as the ratio of the pulsatile blood flow to the non-pulsatile blood in peripheral tissue, and can be measured non-invasively. PI can be used to assess peripheral perfusion dynamics due to changes in peripheral vascular tone.