What are the contents of a fire extinguisher?

This depends of the type of fire extinguisher. Most gas extinguishers contain compressed Carbon Dioxide, and may be used on all types of household fires. Liquid fire extinguishers contain water, and should never be used where an electric or oil fire may be present.