What is mace mean?

Mace has several meanings. In medieval times, mace meant a blunt weapon with a heavy blunt object on the end. Mace is also a spice used in baking and in spice mixes in many cultures. Today, mace is, again a weapon, primarily used defensively as a disabling spray.