How did canada gain it's independence?

Gradually, and it takes more than 300 characters to explain. In the 1860 domestic issues encouraged Canada to seek independence. On July 1, 1867, with passage of the British North America Act, the Dominion of Canada was officially established as a self-governing entity within the British Empire.