What is the definition for murder?

18 U.S. Code § 1111 states: Murder is the unlawful killing of a human being with malice aforethought. Whereas Homicide is when one human causes the death of another. Not all homicides are murder. Some are lawful, such as when justified by an affirmative defense, like insanity or self-defense.