What is in sand?

Sand is a granular material composed of finely divided rock and mineral particles. It is defined by size, being finer than gravel and coarser than silt. Sand can also refer to a textural class of soil or soil type, as an example, a soil containing more than 85 percent sand-sized particles by mass.