Why is the red carpet red?

Red carpet dates back 2500 years to the play Agamemnon, when the titular hero is welcomed home from war with this carpet dyed a color traditionally associated with royalty. In the 20th century, railroads used it to lavish their passengers after travel, and Hollywood soon adopted it for events.