How long can you last in 50 degree water?

At 40 to 50° F, a person can lose the ability to make coordinated hand and finger movements in less than 5 minutes, lose consciousness in 30 to 60 minutes, and can likely swim only 7 to 40 minutes before exhaustion and die in 1 to 3 hours even with flotation.