What causes a hair lip?

a harelip (spelled H-A-R-E like a rabbit) is a congenital cleft or fissure in the midline of the upper lip, resembling the cleft upper lip of a hare (hence the name), often occurring with cleft palate. This birth defect has a genetic origin of a single pathogenic variant in the HYAL2 gene