Who was the first artist to use auto tune?

Cher's 1998 hit Believe was the first recording to use Auto-Tune in a distinctive way, now known as the "Cher effect." Photos: Autotune: good or bad? American rapper T-Pain is an early adopter of Auto-Tune and has helped spread its popularity.