What is amber ales mean?

Amber ale is an emerging term used in Australia, France and North America for pale ales brewed with a proportion of amber malt and sometimes crystal malt to produce an amber colour generally ranging from light copper to light brown. ... Diacetyl is barely perceived or absent in an amber ale.