How many states signed the declaration of independence?

56 people signed the Declaration of Independence. These included men from Massachusetts, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, New York, North & South Carolina, Georgia, New Jersey, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, & Virginia. So that's 12 different states.