Are palm trees actually trees?

Botanists define trees narrowly, as woody plants with secondary growth. Palms lack secondary growth and wood. They create their tough, wood-like epidermis through primary thickening and lignification. According to the botanical definition, palms are not trees but large, woody herbs. How about that?