What's the difference between retail and wholesale?

The word wholesale simply means selling in bulk quantities and retail stands for selling merchandise in small quantities. ... While a wholesaler sells goods to the businesses, as they purchase goods to sell it further. On the other hand, a retailer targets final consumer and sells goods to them.