What's the show lost about?

The survivors of Oceanic Flight 815 were 1,000 miles off course when they crashed on a mysterious island. Each person possesses a secret, but they've got nothing on the island itself, which harbors a security system, a series of bunkers and a group of violent survivalists hidden in the shadows.