What position did nick saban play in college?

Despite playing quarterback in high school and winning a state championship, Nick Saban played defensive back at Kent State University from 1970-1972. Upon graduating in 1973, Saban had intended to go into auto sales, but Kent State hired him as a graduate assistant, starting his coaching career.