Are john adams and john quincy adams the same person?

No. John Quincy Adams was the son of John Adams, the second president of the United States. John Quincy served as Secretary of State under James Monroe before becoming the nation's sixth President.

---

No. John Quincy Adams (the sixth US president) was the oldest son of the John Adams (the second US president). The only other pair of father-son presidents also have the same first and last name: George W. Bush and George H. W. Bush.