When was the c. b. radio invented?

CB radio, or Citizen's Band radio, was introduced in the US in 1945. It was a simple way for people to communicate over short distances. In the 1970's the CB radio became a U.S.-nationwide fad. With today's cell phone technology, CB radio use is in decline.