What's the m. and m. story?

Forest Mars came up with the idea when he saw British soldiers eating Smarties candies which were chocolate candies with a hard shell, and popular with soldiers because they were less messy that pure chocolate candies. Bruce Murrie (the other "M") and Forest Mars patented M and Ms in 1941.