How many games are in a set of tennis?

A set is won by the 1st side to win 6 games, with a margin of at least 2 games over the other side (e.g. 6–3 or 7–5). If the set is tied at 6 games each, a tie-break is usually played to decide the set. A match is won when a player has won the majority of the prescribed number of sets.