What was the first batman comic book?

The character of Batman made his first appearance in the pages of Detective Comics number 27 in May 1939. In the spring of 1940, Batman number 1 was published and introduced new characters into Batman's pantheon, most notably those of Catwoman and Batman's eventual nemesis, the Joker.