What year did they start the three point shot in basketball?

The 3 point shot was introduced to the NBA in the 1979 1980 season. While some colleges added the 3 pointer in the 80 81 season it was not added to all men's NCAA games until 1986 and to woman's games in 1987. It was added to high school games in 1987.