What's the difference between obsession and addiction?

An obsession is an idea or thought that continually preoccupies or intrudes on a person’s mind. As long as it can usually be controlled, it is not an addiction. Addiction is defined as not having control over doing, taking, or using, something, to the point where it could be harmful to you.