What is a maple tree?

Maple, genus Acer, is any of a large genus (about 200 species) of shrubs or trees in the family Sapindaceae, widely distributed in the North Temperate Zone but concentrated in China. Maples are some of the most important groups of ornamentals for planting in lawns, along streets, and in parks.

---

Maple trees are deciduous shade trees with leafy foliage. They have brown furrowed bark, & small fruits. Maple trees commonly have green leaves that change their color to red, yellow, orange, in the fall. The most identifiable feature of maple trees is their leaves. Maple trees grow up to 150 ft.