What does the winter weather advisory mean?

According to the National Weather Service, they will issue a winter weather advisory for any amount of freezing rain, or when 2 to 4 inches of snow (alone or in combination with sleet and freezing rain) is expected to cause a significant inconvenience, but not serious enough to warrant a warning.