What is the definition of drang?

Drang is the German word for stress, as in the expression Sturm und Drang (Storm and stress). It can also mean urge or impulse.

---

Drang - obsolete germanic word whose primary meanings were: 'Urge,' 'Drive,' or 'Impulse' - most often seen as part of 'Sturm Und Drang' an artistic - esthetic movement in Germany from 1760 onwards, in this context Drang's meaning shifts: e.g. 'Strife and Struggle,' or 'Storm and Stress.'