What is a kashi beef?

Akaushi Beef is a special breed of cattle raised in Japan. Also called 'Emperor's Breed' it is known for excellent marbling and was unavailable outside of Japan until 1994 when it started being raise by select ranchers in the USA. Good beef is highly prized in Japan.