What animal turns white in winter?

There are many animals that shed their brown coats and turn white during the winter. Animals such as stoats, hares, caribou, collared lemmings, Siberian hamsters, arctic foxes, and even birds like ptarmigans turn white to camouflage themselves in the snow.