What is the origin of the phrase eighty six?

There are several possibilities. They range from restaurant code for an item not being availavle from the menu, to being thrown out of a New York bar with the address 86 Bedford st, to military slang for code for an items to be disposed of using the letters A and T-6, which became 86.